Run for election!

Every year, the students at Oxford Brookes elect four people to represent them. The four Sabbatical Officers are students who either take a year out of their studies (a sabbatical) or do the role the year after they graduate. They’re paid a full-time wage and they each work to improve the lives of students in different ways.

It's a fantastic opportunity, particularly for students who have ideas for improvements they would like to make at Oxford Brookes, and those who wish to take on leadership or organisational roles.

Why get involved?

How many graduates can say they have been:

  • Trustee of a charity
  • Director of a company with a £1 million+ turnover
  • Helped set the direction of an organisation with a £200 million turnover (the Uni)

In these positions, you will:

  • Bring about real, positive change within Oxford Brookes University.
  • Represent student views and needs.
  • Sit in high-level meetings with the Vice-Chancellor and senior management of the University.
  • Undertake continuous training and support.
  • Receive a full-time salary.
  • Gain real world experience that's a great head-start in any career.

How will the elections work?

Any student can run for election.

Nominations will be open from 03 December 2019, and will close on Friday 14 Feb at 5pm.

Once nominations close, your manifesto and image will be uploaded onto the Union website so that students can take a look at your policies and ideas. You’ll then have a couple of weeks to campaign (drum up support for yourself and talk to students about what you would do if elected.)

Students will be able to vote for their favourite candidates from Mon 02 March - Thu 05 March.

What does Brookes Union do?

Brookes Union exists to help you make the most of your time at Brookes. We’re a democratic organisation, run by students for students.

We run an Advice Service that offers free confidential advice on many matters, support over 100 student societies and support a network of student reps. We also put on a range of events throughout the year, from houseplant sales to This is Oxford. The Union also campaigns on things that matter to you, such as mental health support at university or affordable, good quality housing.

Have a look around our website and find out what else we do...

The roles available


The Union President is ultimately responsible for providing the leadership and direction of the Students’ Union, through their role on senior University Committees and the Union’s Trustee Board. They also maintain an overview of all of the Union’s activities and financial matters.

Learn more about the role and apply


VP Wellbeing's role is to ensure that each and every student has adequate support for issues they might encounter as a student, and to proactively represent students’ rights both on and off campus. To act as a lead for the interests of students, especially as it pertains to support, health and well-being.

Learn more about the role and apply


VP Student voice is here to represent the academic interests of the student body, by supporting academic representatives and creating change in students’ teaching and learning experience. You will champion the voice of students through the University's academic structures.

Learn more about the role and apply


The VP Activities and Employability represents students in matters relating to active involvement with the Students’ Union and its societies, events, volunteering and other student-led activities.

Learn more about the role and apply

Other Roles

These positions are part time and unpaid. They're a good fit for someone who wants to gain experience and take on some responsibilities whilst continuing with their course.

NUS Delegate

NUS delegates represent Brookes University students at the National Union of Students’ Conference (UK). At NUS Conference, you’ll get to vote on policies which will direct the future work of NUS and learn more about the big issues that are affecting students nationwide.

Learn more about the role and apply

Independent Chair

This is an important role within Brookes Union. You will independently and impartially chair any meeting of Union Council as well as Annual General Meetings. You will gain experience in chairing large meetings, boost the voice of students and strengthen democracy in the Union.

Learn more about the role and apply

Powered by